top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSoren Lock

stressful conversation

Soren Lock: Hi Kev, how are you?


Kevin Smith [My Boss]: Hi Soren, I got your email about the office work hours. Do you have a minute?


SL: Yeah, for sure. I'm just sitting on the roof, but I can chat.



KS: Alright don't fall off the roof.


SL: I won't. So you got my email...basically I'm just wondering when I'm going to get more hours in the office. I've been working all my time out here on-site. While I appreciate the work, I've been wanting to work more on the office work I had started.


KS: Of course. I understand that. But right now, we're behind on a few projects. We've got a lot to do and I need you to get those things done. Also, please stop charging for tools. What you've charged us already is way too much.


SL: Thanks, but that doesn't make sense. I was under the impression I'd spend one day in the office each week. I've only been in the office twice in these first six weeks. And I was only charging what you told me to charge for tools.


KS: Well we have too much to get done right now. We need those projects done soon. Are you done the eavestroughs there yet?


SL: No, I just got started. I just finished the painting this morning.


KS: Alright, let me know when you're done, and I'll tell you where you're going next.


SL: Okay. So I don't charge for tools anymore? And I should I expect to be in the office any time soon?


KS: No, that's it for charging for tools. And yes, you can work an extra day if you want, but we need these projects done soon.


SL: Alright, I'll get back to these eavestroughs.


KS: Good. Let me know when you're done.


SL: Will do. Talk to you later.


KS: Bye.


Why was this stressful? Because I hadn't made the recognition that I had made assumptions about how many office work hours I'd get. I later recognized this and learned that I need to vocalize assumptions and get commitments written down.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page